Cricket World Cup 2023, Prize Money and Iconic Stadiums

ICC cricket world cup 2023 - India


The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup promises to be a thrilling spectacle, showcasing the best of cricketing talent from around the globe. In this article, we will delve into the participating teams, their current rankings, and their illustrious World Cup history.

The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup is set to captivate cricket fans worldwide, and the upcoming tournament in India promises to be a spectacle of cricketing excellence.

India Cricket Team in World Cup:

India, the host nation, enters the tournament as one of the favorites. Currently ranked among the top teams in both ODIs and T20Is, they have a rich World Cup history with two titles to their name, having triumphed in 1983 and 2011.

Australia Cricket Team in World Cup:

Australia, perennial contenders, are another team to watch out for. Holding the record for the most World Cup wins (five), they are currently ranked highly in both formats. Their dominance in past tournaments, including victories in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015, makes them a formidable force.

England Cricket Team in World Cup:

England, the 2019 World Cup champions, are keen to defend their title. Ranked highly in ODIs, they broke their World Cup jinx in the previous edition. They will look to continue their strong run and add another trophy to their cabinet.

Pakistan Cricket Team in World Cup:

Pakistan, known for their unpredictability, has won the World Cup once, back in 1992. Currently ranked lower than some of their counterparts, they have the potential to surprise and upset higher-ranked teams.

Cricket world cup Imran-khan-world-cup-1992

South Africa Cricket Team in World Cup:

South Africa has consistently been a strong team in ODIs, and their World Cup journey has seen them reach the semi-finals on multiple occasions. Although they haven’t won the World Cup yet, their performances make them a team to reckon with.

West Indies Cricket Team in World Cup:

The West Indies, with a rich cricketing legacy, have won the World Cup twice, in 1975 and 1979. While they have struggled in recent years, their T20I rankings suggest they can be a force to be reckoned with in the shorter format.

New Zealand Cricket Team in World Cup:

New Zealand, the perennial dark horse, reached the World Cup final in 2015 and 2019 but fell short both times. With a solid team and strong rankings, they are considered strong contenders yet again.

Sri Lanka Cricket Team in World Cup:

Sri Lanka, the 1996 World Cup champions, has experienced a decline in recent years. However, their World Cup history and potential for resurgence make them an interesting team to follow.

Bangladesh Cricket Team in World Cup:

Bangladesh, often seen as an underdog, has been improving steadily. While they haven’t won the World Cup, their rankings and performances in recent tournaments show promise.

Afghanistan Cricket Team in World Cup:

Afghanistan, the rising star of world cricket, has made significant strides in a short span. While they may not be among the top-ranked teams, they are known for their passion and can be expected to upset the odds.

Prize money for the World Cup 2023:

Prize money for the World Cup has been set at USD 10 million, according to the International Cricket Council. On November 19th, at the same location, the tournament will conclude with the final round.

Venues and Cricket Stadiums for the World Cup 2023

India, a cricketing powerhouse, will host the 2023 World Cup in some of the most iconic cricket stadiums known to the sport.

Kolkata Cricket Stadium:

Kolkata Stadium has a seating capacity of over 66,000 and is famous for IPL. This legendary venue promises an electric atmosphere for the matches it hosts.

Mumbai Cricket Stadium:

Located in the heart of India’s financial capital, Wankhede Stadium has a seating capacity of over 33,000 and is famous for hosting high-octane matches, including the 2011 World Cup final.

Bangalore Cricket Stadium:

Known for its picturesque setting, this stadium can accommodate around 38,000 fans. With its vibrant cricketing culture, Bengaluru promises passionate crowds and intense matches.

Hyderabad Cricket Stadium:

With a seating capacity of approximately 39,000, this modern stadium provides a fantastic cricketing experience. It has witnessed numerous thrilling encounters in the past.

Mohali Cricket Stadium:

With a capacity of around 38,000 and excellent facilities. Mohali has witnessed memorable cricket moments and is sure to host more in 2023.

Chennai Cricket Stadium:

With a capacity of around 38,000, this historic venue has a unique charm. It has been the stage for many legendary cricket battles over the years.

Ahmedabad Cricket Stadium:

Renovated recently, this stadium is one of the largest in the world, with a seating capacity exceeding 110,000.

cricket world cup 2023 AhmedAbad-Cricket-Stadium-world-cup-final

These venues represent the heart and soul of cricket in India. They have witnessed historic moments, celebrated legendary players, and hosted countless fans.

As they prepare to host the 2023 World Cup matches, cricket enthusiasts can expect to witness thrilling contests and create lasting memories.

In conclusion, the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup in India promises not only a handsome prize pool but also an opportunity for cricket fans to witness the magic of the sport in iconic stadiums.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here