Wednesday, September 27, 2023
Modern Writes
HomeSportsIndia won the Asia Cup title by defeating Sri Lanka - Modern...

India won the Asia Cup title by defeating Sri Lanka – Modern Writes

India defeated Sri Lanka, the incumbent champions, by ten wickets, and therefore won the Asia Cup for the eighth time.

Hart scored 51 runs in 6.1 overs, without losing a wicket. Openers Ishan Kushan scored 23 runs and Shubman Gul scored 27 runs.

Earlier in the final match played in Colombo, Sri Lankan team captain Dasan Shanaka won the toss and elected to bat first, which turned out to be wrong.
Sri Lanka was bowled out for 50 runs in 15.2 overs by Indian bowlers, the lowest total in an ODI competition final.

One run was scored by Kaushal Mendes (5 runs), Patham Nissanka (2 runs), Dhananjaya De Silva (4 runs), Donath Velalje (8 runs), and Pramod Madhushan (1 run). The Sri Lankan captain was among the five batsmen who were out for zero.

Leading scorer Kaushal Mendis scored 17 runs, while Dushan Hemantha scored 13.
On behalf of India, Muhammad Siraj took 6 wickets by giving 21 runs in seven overs while doing devastating bowling. He took four wickets in a single over while also bowled a field over.

Three players were led to the pavilion by Jasprit Bumrah, while Hardik Pandya led one.

Man of the Match:

Siraj of India won the Man of the Match trophy for his outstanding match-winning effort. Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarwickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananajaya de Silva, and Dasun Shanaka were among his six victims.

Moreover, Kuldeep Yadav of India was named Player of the Tournament in the meanwhile. Nine wickets were taken by the wrist spinner on the left arm.

He contributed to India winning two games in the Super 4 stage with a match-winning five-wicket haul against Pakistan and a four-wicket haul against Sri Lanka.

Shubman Gill of India, who scored 302 runs throughout the competition, took first place, followed by Kusal Medis of Sri Lanka, who scored 270 runs.

With 207 and 195 runs, respectively, Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan of Pakistan took fourth and fifth place.

Separately, Matheesha Pathirana of Sri Lanka took the most wickets in the competition with 11 total, followed by Mohammad Siraj of India with 10.

Moreover, Shaheen Afridi of Pakistan earned the fourth position in the bowlers’ standings after taking 10 wickets during the competition.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Modern Writes

Most Popular

Recent Comments